MIMA celebrates works of multicultural, indigenous media

Now in its fifth year, the Multicultural & Indigenous Media Awards (MIMA) on Friday staged this year’s awards presentation dinner with eight media practitioners receiving recognition for their works.


MIMA Chairman Shaoquett Moselmane MLC together with event keynote speaker Racial Discrimination Commissioner Dr Tim Soutphommasane and other Parliament Members presented the awards. Listen to keynote message:

The awards given were Journalist of the Year, Young Journalist of the Year, Coverage of Community Affairs, Editorial Reporting, Photographer of the Year, News Reporting, and Online News Blog or News Coverage.

The awardees:

Coverage of Community Affairs: Raymond Selvaraj (SBS Radio)
Editorial Reporting: Mike Sweet (Freelancer)
Journalist of the Year: Susana Lolohea (Koori Radio 93.7FM)
Journalist of the Year: Usha Arvind (Indian Link Media Group)
News Reporting: Laura Murphy-Oates (SBS-NITV)
Online News Coverage: Ana Sevo (Meraki tv)
Photographer of the Year: Nerses Baliozian (Armenia Media)
Young Journalist of the Year: Namita Gohil (Indian Link Media Group)

MIMA was established at the initiative of Mr Moselmane to recognise ethnic and indigenous journalists, photographers and media outlets for the works they contribute to their respective communities. The first multicultural newspaper in Australia, Die Deutsche Post, was published in Adelaide in 1848 and not until 2012, was there a stand-alone award recognising multicultural community media.

“Tonight is a simple night for a simple celebration showcasing the talent and dedication of multicultural and indigenous media journalists,” said Mr Moselmane.

“It is also to recognise and encourage innovative journalism.

“Prior to establishing these awards, what we often see and think about are the various page journalists who are usually ruled out and celebrated for their work.

“But not the migrant journalists who are particularly devoted to work hard, in fact slave away to keep their communities informed and keep abreast of the issues affecting their societies.”

In previous MIMA, Filipino Australian website has three MIMA awards credited to it: Inaugural Award for Coverage of Community Affairs in Australia in 2012 and Best Photographer of the Year in 2014 both for the works of TFA Editor Romy Cayabyab, and Coverage of Community Affairs in 2015 for the works of of TFA Contributing Writer Violi Calvert.

Related Posts (by topic or by writer):

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.